Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor

Bernard Haitink, Conductor

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony is a landmark in the history of music, changing the concept of what a symphony could be. The use of solo singers and a chorus in the final movement was revolutionary, and the emotional journey to a glorious vision of a world of love and tolerance paved the way for idealistic symphonies to come.

Performed with: Twyla Robinson, soprano; Karen Cargill, mezzo; John MacMaster, tenor; London Symphony Chorus & Orchestra

September 2006
LSO Live


Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 ‘Choral’

  • I. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
  • II. Scherzo & Trio. Molto vivace
  • III. Adagio molto e cantabile
  • IV. Finale. Presto – Allegro ma non troppo – Vivace – Adagio cantabile
Listen on Spotify