Britten: War Requiem

Kurt Masur, Conductor

Benjamin Britten’s great artistic statement of pacifism is a modern classic: an unprecedented treatment of the Latin texts of the Requiem set alongside acerbic and often overtly contradictory verse by Wilfred Owen. Captured in a live performance on the 60th anniversary of the end of World War II in Europe, featuring singers Christine Brewer, Anthony Dean Griffey and Gerald Finley and conducted by known peace activist, the Orchestra’s then-Principal Conductor Kurt Masur, this account of Britten’s extraordinary masterpiece is indispensable.   

Performed with: Christine Brewer, soprano; Anthony Dean Griffey, tenor; London Philharmonic Orchestra; London Philharmonic Choir & Tiffin Boys’ Choir

May 2006


Britten: War Requiem, Op. 66

  • Requiem aeternam
  • What passing-bells for these who die as cattle?
  • Dies irae
  • Bugles sang
  • Liber scriptus proferetur
  • Out there. We’ve walked quite friendly up to Death
  • Recordare
  • Confutatis maledictis
  • Be slowly lifted up, thou long black arm
  • Lacrimosa
  • Move him into the sun
  • Offertorium
  • So Abram rose, and clave the wood
  • Sanctus
  • Benedictus
  • After the blast of lightning from the East
  • Agnus Dei
  • Libera me
  • It seemed that out of battle I escaped
  • ‘Let us sleep now…’
Listen on Spotify