Turnage: Anna Nicole

Antonio Pappano, Conductor
Richard Jones, Director

In a tragic-comic take on the extremes of celebrity culture, composer Mark Anthony Turnage, librettist Richard Thomas and director Richard Jones add Anna Nicole Smith to opera’s gallery of bad, sad girls. A pneumatic Playboy model who married an octogenarian billionaire, she achieved grotesque fame before her destitute, drugriddled death. With its jazz-coloured score and Eva-Maria Westbroek’s starry performance, this is, as the New York Times said: “an engrossing outrageous, entertaining and, ultimately deeply moving opera”.

Contains very strong language and scenes of a sexual nature

August 2011
Opus Arte


Running time 120 mins approx
Region Code All regions
Picture format 16:9 Anamorphic
Sound format 2.0LPCM + 5.1(5.0) DTS
Menu languages EN
Subtitles EN/FR/DE/ES


Gerald Finley – The Lawyer Stern
Eva-Maria Westbroek – Anna Nicole
Alan Oke – Old Man Marshall
Susan Bickley – Virgie
Jeremy White – Daddy Hogan
Loré Lixenberg – Cousin Shelley
Peter Hoare – Larry King
Rebecca de Pont Davies – Aunt Kay
Dominic Rowntree – Older Daniel
Allison Cook – Blossom
Andrew Rees – Doctor
Grant Doyle – Billy
Wynne Evans – Mayor

Performed with:  John Parricelli, guitar; John Paul Jones, bass guitar; Peter Erskine, drums; Royal Opera Chorus & Orchestra of the Royal Opera House