Turnage: Orchestral Works Vol. 1

Marin Alsop, Conductor

British composer Mark-Anthony Turnage, one of the most acclaimed and widely-performed composers of his generation, was Composer in Residence of the London Philharmonic Orchestra from 2005–10. His works skilfully blend classical and jazz idioms, modernism and tradition. These four performances were admired and enjoyed by critics, audiences and musicians and have an electrifying quality which is captured on these live recordings – not only premiere recordings, but in two cases live recordings of world premieres.

Scherzoid commissioned by the New York Philharmonic, Lorin Maazel, Music Director, with generous support from the Francis Goelet Fund, and by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, with generous support from the Southbank Centre, in collaboration with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Iceland Symphony Orchestra.
Evening Songs commissioned by NDR.

When I Woke commissioned as part of the 2001 Credit Suisse International Concert Series.
Yet Another Set To commissioned by Casa da Música, Porto 2001. The London Philharmonic Orchestra is very grateful to Casa da Música for granting permission to present the world première performance and recording.

Performed with: Sarah Connolly, mezzo-soprano; Martin Robertson, soprano saxophone; London Philharmonic Orchestra

October 2005


Turnage: Scherzoid


Turnage: Evening Songs

  • I. Almost Dreaming
  • II. In the Half Light
  • III. Still Sleeping


Turnage: When I Woke

  • I. The Turn of Time
  • II. When I Woke
  • III. Lie Still, Sleep Becalmed


Turnage: Yet Another Set To

  • I. Cut Up
  • II. A Soothing Interlude
  • III. Another Set To
Listen on Spotify